Gettin’ Fresh

A little over a week ago I asked for advice on healthy food. I didn’t want to go crazy and buy a lot of things I’d never eat again, I just wanted some advice on what healthy (and tasty) foods I could start substituting for some unhealthy foods I’d been eating.

I was given some great advice from friends like Dayle Hogue. I read some health related blogs. I even went to the public library and checked out a few books! (I know, I’m a nerd.) The most helpful book was this one:

If you are looking for a good, reliable book about healthy eating at any age, I highly recommend this one. While it has over 150 recipes, the best part is that the first 125 pages are full of great information on choosing the right foods (it explains why, it doesn’t just tell you what to go grab at the store). It also covers exercise, healthy lifestyles, and knowing your risks. This book is written by doctors from the Cleveland Clinic, one of America’s top heart hospitals, so I feel like it’s trustworthy.

I’ve collected all this information for a little over a week and spent some time this weekend making a list of exactly what I was willing to eat. Today was the day. After work, with the help of my sweet mother, I ventured out to H-E-B (one of my fave’s). I wandered around some but my list and my mom helped keep me on track. This is what I came home with:

Arugula, celery, black beans, grapefruit, tomatoes, blueberries, yogurt, quinoa, peaches, organic peanut butter, garlic, feta cheese, cucumbers, avocados, cottage cheese, green tea, Melba toast, eggs whites, limes, and more. Obviously, I already had some food at home and as you can probably tell, I am much more interested in having 4-5 smaller meals throughout the day than having 3 large meals.

I also want to try out some smoothie recipes for breakfast but I’m going to wait a few days to get started on that. If you have any good ones, let me know!

I’m excited to try some new things tomorrow. I’ve never had cottage cheese, for example, and that, along with peaches and some blueberries, will be one of my snacks in the afternoon. Wish me luck and keep the good advice coming!

 

    • Brianna
    • February 16th, 2010

    Thanks for the book suggestion. I am doing a little switching of products and just trying to eat healthier in general. I am going to be a nerd too and check out this book.

  1. hey lady! of course I remember you…so glad you are trying quinoa for the first time! here’s a link to a great recipe…I really liked it a lot! http://edibleperspective.com/?p=5307

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment